Outline of Jonah

The book of Jonah can easily be broken down into two parts – before the whale (or big fish) and after the whale.  The narrative splits the book in half; Jonah fleeing from his mission and then unhappily fulfilling it.

  • Jonah flees from his mission (Jonah 1-2)
    • Jonah is called and runs away (Jonah 1:1-3)
    • The sailors cry out (Jonah 1:4-6)
    • Jonah is discovered and admits his wrongdoing (Jonah 1:7-10)
    • Jonah is punished (Jonah 1:11-2:1)
    • Jonah’s prayer of thanksgiving (Jonah 2:2-9)
    • Jonah is delivered (Jonah 2:10)
  • Jonah fulfills his mission (Jonah 3-4)
    • Jonah is called again and obeys (Jonah 3:1-4)
    • The Ninevites repent (Jonah 3:5-9)
    • God relents in the destruction of Nineveh (Jonah 3:10)
    • Jonah is unhappy with God’s mercy to the Ninevites (Jonah 4)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *